Just another WordPress.com site

Amy’s Top Ten Favorite Foods

Outback Steakhouse in California

If only I could win the lotto, I would have my own booth at Outback!

I will be branching out with this week’s top ten list into the world of yummy cuisine. Keep in mind that the majority of my top ten list of favorite foods can be ordered off a menu at a local restaurant. This is because although I like cooking, I have yet to learn the art of recreating such tasty dishes myself. And although Google is a great search engine, it has yet to give me an accurate recipe for Outback Steakhouse‘s baked potato soup.

10.  Mac and cheese – I don’t know too many people who don’t like it.  Whether it’s the ole’ fashion version with bread crumbs sprinkled on top or out of a Velveeta box.  If you really want to spice it up, cut up some salami or ham and throw it in there for good measure. My OCD won’t allow me to eat it this way, but who am I to judge how you like it? (Double meaning intended?  Probably.)

9. Pizza – again, it’s one of those things – there is a flavor for everyone.  It’s hard to go wrong with pizza.  Granted, I’ve seen it done.  For instance, when you smother it in black olives, anchovies or fruit, but give me a pie loaded down with pepperoni and this girl is one happy camper.

8. Grilled Lobster Tail – This is also something I love, love, love.  However, it only makes the number 8 spot as a result of a rather scary episode I had at Outback.  I have never had an allergic reaction to food and no other shellfish does it.  But after eating the scrumptious lobster, I had the makings for a huge fat lip and heart palpitations that were so bad I was sure the hubby could hear them.  So no more lobster for this girl.

7.  Restaurant Salads – There is something to be said for the salads you get at restaurants.  Whether it be Olive Garden, Carrabba’s or Outback, it always tastes better than the ones I create at home.  And none of the store-bought dressings even come close to tasting as good.

Cadbury Creme Egg

It's all about the creamy filling.

6.  Cadbury Creme Eggs – I know it’s more of a candy, but there is something about that creamy filling that I just can’t do without.   Doesn’t everyone bite it in half and lick out the filling? (No visuals intended)

5.  Queso Dip – Chili’s queso dip to be precise.  It’s my favorite thing on their menu next to the Presidente Margarita.  I have recreated my own dip, but it just doesn’t have the creaminess that Chili’s has.  And isnt’s it just so convenient that there is one on the way to the bowling alley for league night.  No wonder I have to exercise three times more than everyone else.

4.  Salmon – This is something that I actually cook myself. I cut the salmon into cubes, put them on skewer sticks, baste them in teriyaki glaze and then grill them.  As they are being grilled, I baste them on occasion – usually when I turn them.  After about 15-20 minutes they are heaven on a stick.

3. Ahi tuna – This fabulous dish is courtesy of Outback.  Unfortunately, I have never gotten into the sushi thing or eating cold fish, so I ask for this dish ‘warmed throughout’.  Not to worry, it’s still delectable.

2.  Fresh Scallops – This again is one that I have prepared myself.  I saute them in some butter, garlic and special seasonings.  I do not, however, relish cleaning the buggers.  They closely resemble snot, I mean oysters, before I have removed all the offending goo to get to the meat underneath.

1.  Chicken Marsala – Carrabba’s chicken marsala more specifically.  It’s one of those dishes that make you want to close your eyes every time you take another bite.  The only exception – because there is always an exception – is that I don’t do mushrooms with mine.  Lots of sauce, but hold the mushrooms.  It’s a texture thing.  The drawback to this dish?  You will be tasting it for hours later and not always in a pleasant way.  There’s more garlic in there than you realize.

2 responses

  1. Your lists are awesome! Love queso at Chili’s and ready for the Cadbury eggs this season! 🙂

    February 28, 2012 at 9:57 pm

  2. Kim

    Man… ain’t that the truth about the restaurant salads… especially the dressing 😦

    February 28, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Leave a comment